Rain! rain! and piranha

No sooner had I finished my last day of spring planting for this year (five rose bushes, one tree peony) than the skies went lead-grey with cloud, and opened up, and poured. Rain falling in gushers. It’s just what I most wanted.

My front yard is a south-facing slope, now adorned with a rose garden and a wildflower bed. It looks reasonable but disorderly. It’s almost time to start moving things around and making it harmonious.

The tree peony is a Japanese Kinkaku, a reckless purchase in Calgary’s climate, but I just looked it up online and it turns out to be perfectly well rated for Zone 4, so there. If it’s happy it’ll grow six feet tall and have enormous dinner-plate yellow-and-peach ruffled confections of flowers.

If I hadn’t bought it, that image would have haunted me all year.

Now I’m watching the quite ridiculous movie Megapiranha.

Please Leave a Reply

